Campus Connection - April 11, 2016

Students Honored at Annual Academic Excellence Awards Ceremony

Click image for larger view

Academic Excellence Awards recipients

Twenty-one scholarship winners and 63 student award winners were honored during Cerritos College's annual Academic Excellence Awards ceremony on March 31.

The Academic Excellence Awards was created in 1981 to honor academic accomplishments of students in various departments throughout the College. Students recognized at the ceremony are some of the finest examples of how Cerritos College is fulfilling its mission by building futures through learning.

Students must meet rigorous criteria, including completing 30 units with a 3.5 GPA or higher, completing nine units in the area of recognition with a 3.5 GPA or higher, and a faculty recommendation.

Mark Fronke, professor of accounting, served as the keynote speaker, and encouraged students to stay positive, pursue their dreams and work hard for the greater good. The enlightening speech was followed by the Foundation's scholarship awards and the Academic Excellence Awards.

Congratulations to all of the scholarship and award winners!

Scholarship recipients:

Richard McGrath Memorial Scholarship

Samantha Ortiz

Edward Bloomfield Philosophy Scholarship
Jessiquia Cantrell

Dr. Jack Hoekzema Scholarship
Gloria Saenz-Prado

Dr. Keith Allen Hinrichsen Scholarship
Jose Perez
Nicolas Perez
Bianca Salgado

English Department Scholarship
Jessi Jarrin

Roger Ernest Creative Writing Scholarship
Sheilah “Samii” Yakovetic

Joan Licari Scholarship
Christopher Aldana

John Boyle Scholarship
Jacob Negen

Jules Crane Scholarship
Alejandra Carranza

Delver's Gem & Mineral Society Scholarship
Valeria Jaramillo
Jonathan Lopez

U.S.S. Pelias Scholarship
Sangmin Jung
Ali Mannaa

Newton Werner Scholarship
Ryan Wijaya

Demian/Carreon Scholarship
Karla Abuyen

Glorya Welch Scholarship
Bailey Spillane

Paige "Scholar" Scholarship
Karla Abuyen
Ali Mannaa

The Academic Excellence Awards Recipients:

Karla Abuyen, Natural Science

Andrea Acosta, Cosmetology

Christopher Aldana, Earth Science, Geography

Julieta Alvarado, Real Estate

Lennon Astle, Cosmetology - Esthetician

Abby Barrios, Anthropology

Amber Beck, Dental Hygiene - Didactic

Jessiquia Cantrell, Philosophy

Alejandra Carranza, Pre-Dental

Alejandra Carranza, Biology

Sean Cervantes, Business Administration

Zeinab Chahine, Microbiology

Morika Cheng, Physics

Anisa Diaz, Dance

Kristian Diaz, Machinist

Lawrence Diggins, Art and Design - Studio Arts

Salud Flores, Medical Assisting

Sungjoon Hong, Arc Welding

Rafaela Hurtado, Speech - Communication Studies

Lorenda Jamison, General Music

Valeria Jaramillo, Geology

Jessi Jarrin, English

Nebal Jebarah, Accounting

Diana Jimenez, Elementary Education

Min Kim, Advanced Accounting

Linda Lockett, Computer and Information Technology –

Networking Technology Operator

Raquel Lopez, Engineering Technology

Juan Angel Madrigal, Nursing

Ali Mannaa, Mathematics

Luis Mendez, New Products Development and

Fabrication Option

Billy Morales, Engineering Design and

Production Technology

Janell Morris, Physical Therapist Assistant

Jacob Negen, Biochemestry

Thuy Nguyen, Advanced Microcomputer Accounting

Rodolfo Nuñez, Zoology

Hanbee O, Paralegal

Caleb Olmedo, Microcomputer Accounting

Eric Orellana, Commercial Music

Samantha Ortiz, Administration of Justice

Mario Osegueda, Gas Tungsten Arc Welding

Sumit Paudel, Engineering

Nicholas Pérez, History

Steve Regennitter, Plastics and Composites -

Manufacturing Technology

Casey Robertson, Welding Fabrication and Layout

Julian Ruiz, Psychology

Leilani Ruiz, Engineering Design and Technology

Daniel Saeang, Pre-Medical

Bianca Salgado, Political Science

Stephanie Serrano, Art and Design - Ceramics

Blair Smith, Speech - Language Pathology Assistant

Frank Stainbrook, Pipe Welding

Robert Stanley, Child Development -

Preschool Director

Vincent Thouchalanh, Pre-Pharmacy

Breanna Tornello, Astronomy

Altagracia Torrez, Business Administration -


Stephanie Tuning, Child Development

Early Childhood

Jonathan Valdivia, New Products Development

Auto Aftermarket Option

Jose Ulises Villa, English as a Second Language

Shannon Voelker, Computer Science

Teresa Wang, Kinesiology

Simón Weber, Dental Hygiene

Ryan Wijaya, Chemistry

Sheilah "Samii" Yakovetic, English - Creative Writing